Fort Lauderdale DUI Attorneys
Aggressive and Reliable DUI Defense
Whether you have been wrongfully charged with DUI or seek to argue for minimum penalties in your conviction, it will be in your best interest to hire professional and experienced legal representation. The attorney at the Ticket & License Center has over 16 years of experience representing drivers in Fort Lauderdale and throughout Florida. You can trust him to take an aggressive approach to your defense, all at a reasonable cost with a free initial consultation.
What Constitutes a DUI Charge?
In Florida, a motorist can be charged with DUI for driving or being in physical control of a vehicle while “under the influence” or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more. Drivers under the age of 21 can be charged if they possess a BAC of .02% or more. Note that regardless of their BAC, a driver deprived of full possession of normal faculties will be considered under the influence, though any driver with a BAC of .08% or greater is presumed to be impaired.
Penalties for DUI Convictions
The penalties for a first-time offense consist of any of the following:
- Up to 6 months of jail time
- $500-$1,000 in fines; and/or license revocation for 180 days to 1 year.
A first-offense DUI also requires up to 1 year of probation, 50 hours of community service, completion of DUI School and a 10-day vehicle impoundment. If you driver had a minor passenger or a BAC of .15% or more, the judge can order up to 9 months in jail and a fine of $1,000 to $2,000, as well as require an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for 6 months.
For a second offense, you’ll face a combination of the following penalties:
- up to 9 months of jail time
- license revocation for 180 days to 1 year; and/or $1,000-$2,000 in fines
- IID for 2 years.
Note that if a second offense occurs within 5 years of your prior offense, the judge will order between 10 days and 9 months in jail, a 5-year license revocation, completion of DUI School and 30-day vehicle impoundment. If a minor passenger was in the vehicle or you had a BAC of .15% or greater, the judge can also order up to 12 months in jail and a higher fine of $2,000 to $4,000.
The sentencing for a third offense includes:
- up to 12 months in jail
- license revocation for 180 days to 1 year; and/or $2,000-$5,000 in fines
- IID for 2 years.
A third offense that occurs within 10 years of a prior offense is considered a felony punishable by 30 days in jail to 5 years in prison, a 90-day vehicle impoundment, completion of DUI School and a 10-year driver’s license revocation. If the driver had a minor passenger or a BAC of .15% or greater, the fine will be at least $4,000.
All violators must enroll in a monthly-reporting probation and a substance abuse course. The judge can also order sobriety and drug monitoring, depending on your situation. Failure to comply with these requirements can result in probation violations and driver’s license revocation.
If a driver under the age of 21 is found to have a BAC of 0.02% or above he/she will be subject to a 6-month license suspension for a first offense and 1 year for a second offense. If the BAC was .05% or more, the youth will also be required to complete a DUI education program prior to license reinstatement. Further, if they refuse to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test, their license will be suspended for 1 year following a first-time refusal and 18 months if they possess prior refusals. This violation is neither a traffic infraction nor a criminal offense, nor does being detained for this purpose constitute an arrest.
Defending Against DUIs
Some common defense tactics for fighting a DUI charge are:
- challenging that the police officer had no valid reason for pulling you over
- claiming improper breath, blood, or chemical test administration
- arguing you have specific medical problems that caused erratic driving, not due to illegal substances (e.g. prescription drugs).
If you have been charged with a DUI in Fort Lauderdale, it is important that you contact an experienced DUI lawyer immediately. The attorney at the Ticket & License Center can assess the facts of your situation and have the case dismissed or argue for minimum penalties, whether this is your first or subsequent offense. You can trust the firm to aggressively defend your rights on the road and fight against unfairly severe penalties you do not deserve.
Do not hesitate to contact the Ticket & License Center today for your free consultation.
What Makes the Ticket & License Center Different?We're Focused on Winning & Nothing Else
99% Success Rate
Over 250,000 traffic tickets handled with no points or traffic school
Free initial consultation & affordable fees for handling traffic citations
Statewide Advocacy for Our Clients
In-depth knowledge of Florida statutes & rules of traffic court
Over 16 Years of Experience
Long track record of positive results in representing Florida drivers